Compilation of submissions to Justice Verma Commission

Nation-wide outrage shook India over the gang-grape and attack on a 23-year-old physiotherapy student on December 16 in Delhi. On 29th December she died of her injuries in a Singapore hospital. The Government of India appointed a three member committee of jurists, to look into possible amendments to the existing laws in order to provide speedier justice and stringent punishment in sexual assault cases.

Known as Justice Verma commission, the committee is headed by former Chief Justice of India, J S Verma. The other members of the committee are Justice (retd) Leila Seth, former Chief Justice of Himachal Pradesh High Court, and Gopal Subramaniam, former Solicitor General of India.

The committee began its work on 24th December 2012, by issuing notice seeking comments and recommendations from the public.

Presenting a compilation of some of the submissions to the Justice Verma commission, mostly from women’s groups, NGOs, civil rights groups, legal professionals and educational institutions.

Women Against Sexual Violence and State Repression (WSS) –

Forum Against the Oppression of Women (FAOW), Aawaaz-e-Niswaan (voice of women) (AEN) Lesbians and Bisexuals in Action (LABIA), Mumbai – Submission

Women’s Groups of Gujarat - Submission

People’s Union for Civil Liberties (PUCL) Submission

Partners for Law in Development, New Delhi – Submission

Women with Disabilities – Submission

Amnesty International – Submission

People’s Vigilance Committee on Human Rights (PVCHR) – Submission

Takshashila Institution, Bangalore – Submission

Vrinda Grover, Advocate, New Delhi – Submission

Alternative Law Forum, Bangalore – Submission

Recommendations of round table of faculty and students of colleges and higher secondary’s in Goa organized by SAAD AANGAN in collaboration with Goa College of Home science, Goa – Submission

Student Bar Association, National Law School of India University, Bangalore – Submission

Hazards Centre, New Delhi – Submission

Azim Premji University, Bangalore – Submission


All India Democratic Women’s Association (AIDWA) and Women’s Groups – Submission

Communist Party of India (Marxist) – Submission

Ved Kumari, Professor of Law, Faculty of Law, University of Delhi and former Chairperson, Delhi Judicial Academy – Submission

Rebecca Gonsalvez and Vijay Hiremath, Advocates, Mumbai – Submission

JAGORI, Delhi – Submission

Lawyers Collective and CEHAT – Submission

Aastha Parivaar – Federation of sex workers in Maharashtra – Submission

Saheli Women’s Resource Centre, Delhi – Submission

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Anti-Spam Quiz: